Issue No. 14

The enemy of success.

As a child, I was very observant. I always asked myself why people do what they do. They often fascinated me, so when I graduated high school and before I arrived in South Korea, I first pursued Psychology. It helped me understand other people and myself better. What I realized the most is that every day, we are mostly flowing through a sea of activities and mental burdens without realizing that we are aging every day. As I often emphasized in my letters, 10 years pass by like a snap. Another 10 years will pass by again. It's time to ask yourself about the direction of your life. We severely underestimate our youth and squander it on trivial matters instead of investing in our futures. If people can tolerate your mistakes now, wait until you're old enough to realize it won't be the same anymore. I have learned from the regrets of people around me, and from those who now live only through books. However, that doesn't mean you should just focus on work every single day. What it means is that

if you're over 25, you need to have at least a road map of what will happen in the next 5 or 10 years. Your progress must be trackable. And every day, it should feel as if you have a direction, an aim.

I have seen many talented and smart people fail not because they stopped being talented or smart, but because they were quitters. Often, it's because they think someone else will save them or that their dreams are too big. There is nothing wrong with living a simple life, but you have to ask yourself if this is what you want for the next 5 years. Is this progress enough to build a better life for your future family? Aren't you tired of the same monotonous life you have? Work, study, eat, drink, sleep, and sometimes travel. No deeper meaning. At the end of the day, you are still left with your thoughts, and your thoughts don't lie to you. When you're alone at night, they will tell you what you need to hear, and often, it's uncomfortable. That's when people start to sleep. But I don’t. I listen to them. And often, I find myself overwhelmed by what they tell me, but every time I reflect on it, I feel as if I can do anything.

The world is changing, and economies are suffering. This is also the perfect time to build generational wealth that you and your descendants can benefit from. Build your legacy. Find deeper meaning in what you do. I often think that maybe the indigenous people in remote or uncontacted tribes are much freer than us in the neocivilized world. They can do what they want, and they have no scarcity of dreams. They dream it, and they do it the next morning.

My goal is to live simply, leading a good life where I have a deeper meaning in what I do. So far, what I have realized is that it’s when I am able to provide for other people.

A boy becomes a man when he becomes responsible for someone else.

Whenever I see someone else succeed because of my help, I feel more connected to the world. I feel a sort of tenderness that gets imprinted in my brain.

Live humbly without remorse, without regrets, without vanity. Live the way you intend to, talk the way you mean to, act the way you have to. Be as diligent to the requirements of a successful and peaceful life as you are to someone’s dreams. Self-awareness is at an all-time scarcity given everything that diverts our attention. Unfortunately, this often results in the loss of sanity, relationships, and passions for many individuals.

So, choose a path. You're free to choose. That's what's incredible about it. Then find the requirements of that path. Build the road, gather the elements, and walk. The path to success will require sacrifices only you can understand. The enemy of success is quitting. So, don't quit because you never know when it's your turn.

I would rather die knowing that I kept going than die with the regret of never knowing what I could have been capable of.

Boxes.

Photo by Mike Kononov

🗣️ Let your friends join us in this journey by telling them to sign up for Sunday Stillness newsletter here: aceapolonio.com

☕️ Buy me a coffee: Link

📖 Read the past issues here: Link

📨 Leave more messages for me here.


Until next week,

Author of Silent Contemplations

You are receiving this email because you subscribed to my weekly Sunday Stillness newsletter. Every Sunday you receive a guide to mindfulness and personal growth so that you can become the person you want to be. I share ideas and wisdom I gathered from experience, books, and other people.